IS F (2008-2014) Discussion topics related to the IS F model

Other Peoples' Fs

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-12, 08:18 PM
TerrySmith
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Other Peoples' Fs

Or: High-Performance Car, Low-Performance Driver. <-- Me.

So I've lots of experience at low-performance driving but now I have a pretty high-performance car and I want to learn how to drive it. Also, I'm finding all the slow cars and speed limits on normal streets frustrating and want to get a least some track time.

I was looking at Hooked On Driving (HOD) which seems like the cheapest way to get track time with a volunteer "coach." But I need to figure out insurance and also how to fit a helmet between me and the roof of my F. And, I would really like to learn from a real school first and learn in my own car, if possible

So I looked at one famous driving school and it is far away, expensive and they use Cadillacs. Still, I was considering it. I could still learn basic driving in another car if not the limits and characteristics of my own IS F.

Then I checked out the Skip Barber School and discovered their High Performance Driving class features the IS F. Their IS Fs, not mine. Also, it's relatively inexpensive and the Laguna Seca Track is only a 2-hour drive from here.

This is a school with professional instructors rather than volunteer coaches and I can learn in a car like mine, while mine sits safely in the parking lot.

Bingo!

I'm signed up for March 10. In addition to an IS F, I will be driving other cars - the web site says 3 different types of Porsche cars and a Lotus. I also have the option to use my own car if I want, but that raises the issue of insurance again.

The bad news is that most of the day is in the paddock and on the skid pad learning to drive and you only get about 20 minutes of track time. But instruction is what I want first.