IS F (2008-2014) Discussion topics related to the IS F model

Road trip emergency tire replacement

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-13, 11:36 AM
Kingkrs
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have a question for you guys about tires. While on a 800 mile road trip I got a flat on the rear passenger Bridgestone RE 050A that was unrepairable. Being so far from home I was forced to get a replacement from another brand. It is a Cooper RS3-S, same size speed and load rating as my OEM tires. Now during the second day leg if my trip, I noticed that when I accelerated the car would pull to the left, I assume because of the tread difference.

My question to you guys: with only 12k miles on the OE tires, would it be in my best interest to replace the other rear tire? I guess I can live with the pulling even though it kinda bothers me. What about Cooper tires? Are they any good? I have no experience with them so any advice is appreciated.

Last edited by Kingkrs; 08-06-13 at 01:21 PM.
Old 08-06-13, 11:45 AM
eumenes
Driver School Candidate

Winding Road reviewed the Cooper tires against Michelin PS2s in March 2011 and found them to be superior in wet and dry conditions, 2 seconds faster on the track in wet and 5 seconds faster in dry.
Old 08-06-13, 01:52 PM
vbb

Received 197 Likes on 96 Posts

I would be surprised if you're experiencing a "pull" in your steering/alignment from a rear tire. I guess it is possible, but my thought would be that it is more your imagination than anything (or that you knocked your alignment out of sorts somehow).