IS F (2008-2014) Discussion topics related to the IS F model

First day at track!

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-09, 08:16 AM
ToothDoc
11 Second Club

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default First day at track!

Last Monday was my first day at the track. Unfortunately, my vid cam ran out of memory at 20 minutes or so. Also, I'm a novice in novice class. If anybody wants to watch a boring video of the IS-F in action, click on the link. So, please no comments on the noobie lines. I know I should be using the whole track, and I know I was conservative on the application of the gas. BUT, in real life, I felt like I was going to fly off the track any given moment! I used up all the front brake pads and about 1/2 the tire life and 1 1/2 tanks of gas in the 1 hour 40 minutes (I didn't do the last session).

http://home.comcast.net/~youngsongdmd/trackday.avi

It's almost 900 megabytes. If anybody wants to download it and compress it and upload to youtube or something, please do so. My old computer simply can't handle it.

Thanks for looking - BTW, I passed up a Testarossa, S2000, Phaeton, Camry SE, 550i, a couple of 3 series, GT-R, and serveral others. Not all on that one video.

The single best session was my 5th session. I was trying to keep up with a S2000 cr and for a while, I did well and he even waved me by. However, in my excitement, I went too fast at the very next long straight and went flying off the road. Should've hit the brakes 1/4 second earlier. Fortunately, the track is a safe track in the sense that there are no walls to hit.
Old 06-05-09, 08:25 AM
hwy1isf
Lexus Test Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Sounds like a fun day.

Were you using the stock pads, and any idea what you are going use for replacement pads? Stock, Ceramic, etc.
Old 06-05-09, 09:00 AM
ToothDoc
11 Second Club