IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

New IS350 MPG rating increase

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-10, 09:29 PM
Brendon
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New IS350 MPG rating increase

I've been keeping up with the Lexus IS' changes for 2011. One thing that stands out is the jump in MPG rating. For the past few years since the new EPA standards went into effect, the IS350 has had a rating of 18/25 MPG. Now for 2011, the IS350's rating has jumped to 20/27 MPG for the RWD model. That's a pretty significant increase, especially under the new, tougher EPA testing methods. In fact, its starting to cut down the IS250's only real advantage (the 250 is still rated at 21/30 MPG).

Anyone know why? Its more just out of curiosity that I'm asking. As far as I can tell, there's no changes to the engine at all. I thought it might be that Lexus was giving the IS350 its little brother's lower 3.92 diff to improve MPG, but according to the Lexus website, its still using the same 4.09 from last year. Could Lexus be adopting the cylinder shut off system like what Honda's using?
Old 09-21-10, 09:38 PM
Nigel-JDMParts
Lexus Champion

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts

My real world MPG for my IS350 is Avg 21 to 23MPG all day long.
I had done 29MPG with 85mph in a 100 miles trip.
Old 09-21-10, 09:44 PM
lexusis305
Lead Lap

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Its all in gearing and if you have a 250 or 350 stick or auto , also no changes to the motor is the same throw 2006-11 for 2gr & 4gr motors , but the honda thing is not set up to work with 1600psi fuel system lexus have is alot better then that of honda I tell you because am a sensor lexus tech. you want better gas control your foot and used high octane no cheap gas
Old 09-21-10, 10:02 PM
sangomaru
Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post