Lexus Audio, Video, Security & Electronics
Sponsored by:

Tell Me It Isn't So !! My JL Sub Blew Out?!

Search this Thread

Old 11-20-03, 11:20 AM
D-MAN63
Lexus Champion

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Tell Me It Isn't So !! My JL Sub Blew Out?!

Guys, I need your help here. My JL IB4 sub isn't working anymore.

I have my JL 10" IB4 hooked up to the Kicker KX400.1 and I have it installed for about 8 months and everything works great until a few days ago.

The first signs that something was wrong

1) When I started playing some music(regular volume, not even semi-loud). I started to hear some crackling/vibration noises coming from the sub. BUT when I turned the volume up a notch the vibration/crackling goes away and the sub hits normal.

2)After like 2-3 hours of playing, my sub COMPLETELY shuts-off, no sound comes from it. I had that in the past, where I assume the amp got too hot and turns off by itself to prevent overheating. In the past when that happens, I wait like an hour and played music again, and the sub works just fine.

Today's Incident:

1) I didn't drive my car for about 2 days. I turned on my car and try playing music, NO SOUND from the woofer. Then, I turned up the volume to semi-loud, the sub plays again, turned it back down to soft, no sound comes from the sub??

2) Drove around for an hour and the sub completely shutsoff, no sound from soft to semi-loud, to loud?!

I never play my music extremely loud, just loud enough where I can hear good bass. I went to check my amp and the green light was on, so I assume my AMP is alright.

You guys have any tips to give me to see what really is wrong??

I have 3 amps going to my system, two jl audio 300/2 to run my dynaudio's and my headunit is the alpine iva-c800, I am pretty sure its not something to do with the installation since I have my system for around 8-10 months.

Suggestions??
Old 11-20-03, 11:30 AM
jdmaristo
Driver

try checking the amp that goes to the sub
Old 11-20-03, 12:37 PM
D-MAN63