Help! Subwoofer is dead!

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-06, 11:38 AM
minla007
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help! Subwoofer is dead!

hello everyone,

I am new to CL here, just bought a 98 gs4 from Kevs...who was an active CL member.

As I was takin the gs4 to the dmv to get titled/registered, I was playing the stereo (aftermarket sony headunit) and all of a sudden the sub went out....dead....no bass.

The current setup is the sony headunit, 2 rockford fosgate amps in the trunk, 1 for the sub and 1 for the other speakers. I believe all speakers are stock.

I have no experience w/ stereo systems, so i was wondering if you guys could help me out on what to do to fix it or troubleshoot it. I don't know if its the amp or the sub.

I have pinged kevin about this and he has no idea of what it may be either, so I'm just lookin to see if someone who has knowledge about car stereo systems to help this newbie out.

I checked the rear deck while the stereo was on and didn't hear andy buzzing or fizzing from the sub. Should I just replace all my speakers? What is a good free air sub that you would recommend? where to buy it? etc.

thanks in advance for your advice and help.
Old 06-20-06, 11:49 AM
Kharizma
Lexus Champion

um.. maybe something got disconnected? take it to a sound shop to have it checked out.. don't want loose wires hangin' around lol
Old 06-20-06, 11:55 AM
kevs
Lexus Test Driver

This will probably end up in the Audio section of the forums, but we can always start here!

I've been brainstorming, too....I've never had a problem with my system. Well, excluding that whole fiasco with my Nak system, which I ended up replacing anyway. The amps are in no way connected with the stock system, nor are they touching anything that has to do with the stock system. All stock plugs were pulled from the amps, so there can't be any connection problems in that aspect.

Have you checked the wiring into the sub to make sure it's intact?