Lexus Audio, Video, Security & Electronics
Sponsored by:

New stereo installation - Big disappointment (LONG)

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-02, 10:32 PM
sparky3
Lead Lap

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default New stereo installation - Big disappointment (LONG)

Hello all; I've been driving Toyota Celica's for a few years, and just last week I got my first *real* car, a '98 GS 300 Cinnabar. Needless to say I can never, ever, go back. First, I'd like to say that I'm more of a self-taught type of guy. I have installed car stereo's since around 1989 (when I started driving) and I've always had pretty good luck. I was the guy in high school all my "friends" would want to have them build boxes or wire up amplifiers for them.

My Celica had the following:
JVC SH-99 in dash Mp3 (loved it)
Alpine passive 7-band EQ with separate sub out
Coustic XM-3 X-over (Remember these?)
Kicker 'el cheapo 12" 's (came out of a SS120 Kicker box, paid $100 or so for the box)
California Profile 600 Amp (2 channel) AND
"Going out of business SUN TV" 4 channel Phoenix gold amp.

My objective was to have a good sounding system for under $1000, which I had.

I would also like to add that I've gone back and re-read everyone's posts since just about the beginning before I'm posting this. Percy, retrodrive and Mene Gene (among others) have provided a great deal of information. THank you!

Having said that, I wanted this time around to be different. I'm now 28, and make just enough money that I'm still on a tight budget, but I didn't want to have to fool with installing the stereo myself. I fully realized that I had bargain speakers and amps (at least the California Profile) but it always sounded GREAT in my Celica. I know, I know. It's a hatch.