No sound when electrical load increases on the car

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-09, 01:46 PM
landarc
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default No sound when electrical load increases on the car

Hi. Here is my situation that has been plaguing me for 4 years:

I purchased a used 98 GS400 with a system in it already. I have little to no car audio knowledge. I have had a professional car audio shop look at it just visually and they say it was professionally installed. These are the main components:
  • RED TOP battery with a fuse. (see pic)
  • I have also grounded it to the body of the car. (see pic)
  • There are two amps totally 800W – one 500W and 300W. The amps are both by Precision Power.

When the system is on, the green power light on the 300W is fully bright. The 500W one is dim and that one powers the sub. The Sub is a Alpine Type R 10”. (see pics)

I changed the alternator about 3 years back on the recommendation by the professional audio guy. The alternator is 100AMP, I think. Since I changed the alternator, I am still having the same problem. I think it was pointless and a waste of money.

Now when I play my system during the day, the audio will eventually cut out when:
  • The electric fans turn on for the radiator
  • When there is stop-and-go traffic and the brake booster recharges (this is normal)

The audio comes back on when:
  • Once the fans turn off
  • Once I get moving

When I play my system at night, the audio will eventually cut out when:
  • The HID headlights turn on
  • The HID headlights and fog lamps turn on
  • The seat warmers are turn on in the winter

The audio comes back on when:
  • The HID headlights are turned off
  • The HID headlights and fog lamps turned off
  • The seat warmers are turned off in the winter