Sponsored by:

Xtant Amps

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-02, 07:40 AM
KayGee
Instructor

Received 41 Likes on 20 Posts
Default Xtant Amps

Anyone have any experience with Xtant amps?
Old 04-10-02, 11:46 AM
engin_ear
Everything in Moderation

Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts
Question

I'm curious as well. (The clowns at Tweeter told me that the Xtants were designed by the same guy that designed the new JL amps. And the heat sinks on both are vertical as well, so that seems feasible. Haven't verified it yet.)

Anyone have any comments regarding sound quality, especially when cranked up? Do their amps tend to get hot, or require a lot of ventilation (even with the fans)?
Old 04-10-02, 07:08 PM
biggie27
Lexus Champion

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

from what Ive heard about the Xtant line is that there very good, but there not worth the money. You can get a PPI amp or a Zapco amp for less money and have the same sound quality from them. But Im not an expert on this so dont quote me
Old 04-11-02, 04:56 PM
rhart00
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

If you want some high quality amps I would go for brax/helix, arc audio, or mcintosh. Xtant amps are good quality but I don't think they are worth the money either.

Ryan

Last edited by rhart00; 04-11-02 at 04:58 PM.
Old 04-12-02, 08:59 AM
BabaBooey
Driver

Being that I seem to be the only person on this forum that can't hear a difference between amps putting out the same power, I'm going to say go with JL because of the absurd amount of features (regulated power supply, AWESOME xover, etc...). Cost a bit much for me, though. Assuming that I wasn't able to sell whatever amp I was given, I would take JL over Brax, McIntosh, etc... The fact that it puts out the same power up to 8 ohms means Morel, SEAS, and several other awesome speaker brands can be brought into play without worrying about output...
Old 04-12-02, 11:14 AM
retrodrive
Search Function Inc.

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Originally posted by BabaBooey