Sponsored by:

Question on 98 gs400

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-09, 01:48 AM
GS400KY
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question on 98 gs400

I am looking to upgrade my headunit and my question is i have the indash nav system which also controls the A/C etc if i pull this out what will i need to get to be able to control the a/c heat etc.. a .climate control out of another gs without the indash nav? im new to the Gs model any info would be great thanks..

-Mike
Old 08-07-09, 06:57 AM
TeeLex
Lexus Champion

Yes, find a climate control from a non-nav 98-2005 and it should plug right in. I just did this with my 2004 GS430 ( w/factory nav ) - got a non-nav climate control and installed a double din AVIC Z110BT - worked out great.
Old 08-07-09, 10:12 AM
Wicked SC
Pole Position

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I have a 04 GS 430 and there's a unit that you could purchase that works with the stock Navi system. I'm not to educated on exactly how it works but here it goes. I hit the Disc button and the screen transforms from the Nav screen to the The TV/DVD Screen. This way the car still has the stock look and I have a Pioneer 6 DVD player in the trunk. If you want pics, let me know...I could also call my Audio guy to find out the exact name of the unit...

Edit: The unit is called a RGV Converter....

Last edited by Wicked SC; 08-07-09 at 10:38 AM.
Old 08-08-09, 01:03 PM
alexulan
Lexus Test Driver

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

I would also think a posting on the classified for a Swap might make you some money.

There are a ton of people that would like the factory NAVi.

I'm not one of them
Old 08-11-09, 01:26 PM
Selvarace
Driver School Candidate