1st Phase of Audio Build; sub boxes--with pics

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-10, 10:10 AM
fenderzig
Pole Position

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 1st Phase of Audio Build; sub boxes--with pics

Updated box pics!!

I'm gearing up to do a complete audio build in my GS400. I've never done a full build before so I'm more looking forward to the learning experience than I am to the finished product, however, I'm pretty excited about that too!

My first step was to build two boxes for my 10" JL Audio W6s. Originally I was going to build one box for both of them but then thought it might be better to keep them separate in the event that 2 subs is too much bass...if there is such a thing, right

I'm putting a JL 500/1 on each sub so by keeping them separate, I could sell a whole sub/box/amp combo down the road if I needed to.

I built these boxes according the the JL specs. They are sealed, 3/4 MDF, 100% glued and nailed all the way around. The carpet arrives next week. Anything else I should do to make them better?

Thanks for your help!

Ran some 8 gauge wire from the terminal cup to the sub inside the box. These are the ring terminals on the ends of the wire.

Connected to the terminal cup

Boxes are finished and awaiting install in the car

Last edited by fenderzig; 09-19-10 at 07:29 PM.
Old 09-03-10, 10:48 AM
Big Mack
Lexus Champion

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool

For your first time out of the gate, the construction looks pretty solid.The only thing I would caution on is using screws instead of nails in the construction. Use a pilot hole and countersink them so they are flush, but I would definitely shoot some coarse screws into them. Won't hurt to sand them and prep them for carpet, since it will show any waves/imperfections. If the carpet is going to take some time to arrive, I would also go a step further and hit them with a coat of fiberglass resin inside. This will bond to the MDF and ensure an airtight seal.