2 Ohm sub im 93 SC300???

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-02, 12:42 PM
rossman66
Rookie

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default 2 Ohm sub in 93 SC300???

Anyone,

I have a 93' SC300 and would like to replace the stock speakers. I have the basic Pioneer package. I have read many threads in this fourm and have been really amazed by the knowledge. I have installed many car stereo and speakers, but im a novice compared to what i've read here.

anyway, here's my question. I read a wonderful thread on here about replacing the stock sub with the JL Audio IB4 series. So I went to buy an 8" and the auto shop guy told me that since its an 8 Ohm sub and the stock speaker is 2 Ohms if i repalce it without a new amp it will sound worse that what i have. Is this true? I never tend to believe auto shop guys, but I'm at a loss when it comes to Ohms and impedence etc....

is the guy right? so i need a 2 Ohm sub? will the JL IB48 sound like crap without an aftermarket amp?

i have a 2 channel amp that i could install, but they wanted $90 to do it and i know i can probably do it myself...any suggestions?

thanks for the imput.....

Mark Ross
mark@markross.net

Last edited by rossman66; 08-09-02 at 12:45 PM.
Old 08-09-02, 01:20 PM
pcmw
Lexus Champion

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

That sounds correct.

MW
Old 08-09-02, 01:21 PM
BabaBooey
Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

It wouldn't sound "worse", but it would only be getting about 1/4th the power a 2 ohm speaker would be getting. Considering that the stock speaker, along with being 2 ohms, is probably pretty efficient, you're hardly going to get any output from the IB4 and would probably clip the amp trying to get decent bass out of it. In that case, yes it will sound like crap. Definitely use your aftermarket amp.
Old 08-09-02, 01:28 PM
rossman66
Rookie

Originally posted by BabaBooey
In that case, yes it will sound like crap. Definitely use your aftermarket amp.