Sponsored by:

Viper 5901 on gs

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-11, 07:19 PM
vnguyen850
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Viper 5901 on gs

I've searched, guess I didn't search good enough so I'm posting here. I'm in the process of trying to gather everything I need for the install on the viper 5901 unit.

I have 3 cars I need it installed on. 98 GS300,02 GS300, 04 GS430. I have the (3)viper 5901 Alarm module, what else is needed for this install to make it all work (remote start, door lock/unlock, trunk release)?

From what I understand, I needed the dei xk01 and supposedly you can hardwire so you won't need a bypass module for remote start?

And another source said I will need both the dei xk01 and the pkall.

Now I'm confused, any guidance would be appreciated. Thanks.
Old 02-16-11, 06:45 AM
mkorsu
Zombie Slayer

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Take them to a shop and have a certified installer do the work.

As an installer myself I have seen TOO many cars come in because a DIYer wired it incorrectly and either blew the door lock switch, can't get the remote start to program, popped the RF key ring, etc.

Save yourself time and money and send them out to get done.
Old 02-16-11, 08:41 AM
xsh0tya
Lexus Test Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I would agree^^^... remote starters aren't the best DIY as even in a shop they are one of the more difficult items to install. You could have a defective bypass module or starter unit and spend all day trying to figure it out even with the right wiring diagram. Nice unit(s) by the way I have the same unit in 2 of my vechicles its nice to have one LCD remote to control both vechicles sucks that you have 3 vechicles and 1 remote wont control all 3.
Old 02-16-11, 08:57 AM
vnguyen850
Driver

I intended to get it installled by an installer but I want to buy the stuff before i take it to them. the modules you can buy them on ebay for a fraction of what the installers resale them. get my drift?
Old 02-16-11, 04:27 PM
xsh0tya