Sponsored by:

GS Install Pics Posted

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-02, 03:35 PM
engin_ear
Everything in Moderation

Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts
Talking GS Install Pics Posted

I've just uploaded 20 or so of my GS400 install pics from summer 2002 onto the ClubLexus Member Galleries section, for anyone who might be interested.
The intention of the install was to be relatively stealthy, with amps and speakers hidden and in stock locations, and also maintaining as much trunk space as possible, since the car is a daily driver.
The entire install was done by me personally. I'm not a pro installer, so no fancy fiberglass work. Many things were done to keep vibration to a minimum and maintain optimum audio quality, given the stock locations.
Thanks to Percy for "the book", very helpful so that I was able to take the car apart delicately instead of with a hatchet. Thanks to Dex's install pics for subwoofer inspiration, and many others for timely advice.
Once again, taking an MD100 tweeter completely apart without ever having done it before, and making sure that it's still going to play good audio when yer done, is not my idea of a fun thing to do on a weekend. :-)
Attached here is one example of the completed center console.
Attached Thumbnails GS Install Pics Posted-console_weq-and-clarionsirius2.jpg  
Old 11-13-02, 07:53 PM
amlin423
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Enginyr, Did you put any Dynamat on the plastic rear deck piece? I figure the IDMAX would hit so hard that EVERYTHING would rattle.
Couple more questions:
How are you sealing the area between the box and the rear deck?

Did you try listeing to the sub when it's not firing directly into the port? If so how big of a difference is there? I know I've PMed you about it a few months ago..just thought the info would help some people...

Boy, that magnet sure is deep, it's almost all the way to the ledge.....
Old 11-14-02, 12:09 PM
engin_ear
Everything in Moderation

Andrew: