Sponsored by:

sound systems

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-02, 08:49 PM
Phillycat-24
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default sound systems

What's up guys I just got a sound system put in my car amp, subs, etc. I noticed at night that my headlights would dim in and out when I have the bass all the way up. And I noticed the the dash board lights (Odometer) light is very dim also. It is dimmer than usual. I never had a system before. So I am new to the game. If anyone could tell me what they think I would appreciate it.
Old 12-03-02, 09:10 PM
MrSypher
Lexus Fanatic

You either need to install another alternator, (that means you'd have 2) one for your car and the other for the system.. Or your going to need some capacitors... IMO I'd go with the extra alternator... But here are what the capacitors look like... Hope this helps....
Attached Thumbnails sound systems-powerflow-c.gif  

Last edited by MrSypher; 12-03-02 at 09:10 PM.
Old 12-03-02, 09:49 PM
EG8's Wife
Driver School Candidate

I know this is obvious but did you check your dimmer for the dash lights ?, being dimmer than usual that would be my first check.
And I would go with a farad per 500 watts IMO vs the 2nd alternator.
Old 12-03-02, 10:05 PM
jawnthen
Lead Lap

Question extra alternator

mrsypher,
i've heard of extra batteries but this is the first time I've heard of an extra alternator. Usually you swap the alternator with another one that provides more current.

Phillycat-24,