Sponsored by:

Is the Lexus Nav Adaptive?

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-03, 02:23 PM
jeffknet
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is the Lexus Nav Adaptive?

I'm new to the Lexus Nav having just bought my RX 330 three days ago - but I've noticed some wierd quirks already, - like the Nav taking "strange" routes to my destination - I have to take a backstreet to get to the alley that leads to my house - the first night it tried to take me to the front of my house (street address) but after making the trip once it now leads me to the backstreet. My question is this: does the nav remember the way you drive to certain locations and attempt to follow those directions in the future? Does it learn from your previous trips?
Old 05-26-03, 03:19 PM
eyebike
Driver

It would be nice if the NAV system was adaptive, but I don't think it is. Reviews on these Nav systems tend to find they have quirks and don't always give you the most logical route or the most convenient. It can't supplement intimate knowledge of the area that one gets by living there. That's the problem with GPS and computer based Nav systems. However, when you are in a strange area, it's better than nothing, IMO.
Old 05-27-03, 07:48 AM
NeuroNull
Driver School Candidate

Originally posted by eyebike
It would be nice if the NAV system was adaptive, but I don't think it is. Reviews on these Nav systems tend to find they have quirks and don't always give you the most logical route ....
You mentioned "Reviews" ...
Do you know by the chance where can I find reviews on car's on-board/build-in GPS systems?
Thank you.

Last edited by NeuroNull; 05-27-03 at 07:50 AM.
Old 05-27-03, 07:05 PM
eyebike
Driver

Consumer Reports just a review on GPS navigation systems in their latest issue. The review was basically about portable GPS systems, like the Garmin Streetpilot III. Here's a couple of things they said.