Sponsored by:

Amplifier Issues

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-03, 03:38 AM
JdSuperPimp69
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Amplifier Issues

First of all i have been doing quite a bit of research for the past two months. Im fairly new to the sound system game, so i wanted to get as much information as possible before i bought an amplifier for my subs. I have been on countless websites and i have a few ideas of what i want to push my 2 Orion Xtr DVC 12's in a sealed box with 1.5 cubic ft. per chamber. Arc Audio, Zapco, Us Amps, Jl Audio, and PPI all have amps that i really like. The only problem is i can't decide which one to get. I heard that Arc Audio and Zapco are the same company, and i know Robert Zeff started both companies up, but im not sure which amp would be best to push my subs(Zapco Reference(AG) 1000, or Arc Audio 2500-CXL or 1500D-R). The Us Amps Usa-1000 or 1000x have great reviews and believe it or not as quite inexpensive on ebay, but im not sure if thats too much power for my application. The Jl 500/1 mono sub seems to be the best choice, being that its a 500 Watt RMS amp, and put together, my subs equal 500 watts RMS (250 each). My friend has this exact amp pushing 2 10 inch jl w3's and they sound great. Then again his box takes up almost all the trunk of his Ls (same car i have). I also like PPI's PCX-1500 and 1250 amps. Both of them look really great and have the same amount of power that i need. Im really confused here guys, and id really appreciate any feedback i can get so i can get an amp and have my bass pounding ASAP. If you all have any other suggestions im all ears.
Old 06-25-03, 10:59 AM
400DGRZ
Lexus Champion

Received 14 Likes on 6 Posts

http://www.carsound.com/reviews/amps/jl_5001.html

If your serious about this amp, PM me. Most of these amps are still going for between $400.00-$450.00+.
Old 06-25-03, 02:24 PM
retrodrive
Search Function Inc.

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post