Lighting A place to ask questions about HIDs & other Lexus lights

retrofit VS hid kit

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-07, 11:52 AM
Kaydee
Hacked CL to become a Mod

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default retrofit VS hid kit

as most of you know, the stock halogen lights on the sc is weaksauce. i'm looking to upgrade my lighting system so i can see better at night (not for looks). obviously a full on retrofit is the way to go, but if an hid kit can perform just as well, i'd surely go that way. money is no matter for me because i saved up a lot for this upgrade alone.

to be blunt, what i'm asking is comparison pics between retro and hid kit. if i see negligible difference between the two then i'd go hid kit, because retro robs me of my wealth. i know about glare, hot spots when using stock projectors, and oem color temp for retro, so i'm not a complete noob with this stuff
Old 08-04-07, 08:18 PM
BLK13X
Mortgage Slave

Received 20 Likes on 12 Posts

I was cruising next to an Accord last night with factory HID (Acura TSX) and I'll tell you now the lighting is HEAPS over mine. I have a PnP kit at the moment, a retrofit is the next thing on my list.
Old 08-04-07, 11:29 PM
pingu
Lexus Champion

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

In short, do not do it. Kits just create hot spots and blind oncoming drivers. Do a retrofit

Join HID planet and take a look at this article

http://www.hidplanet.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=3505
Old 08-05-07, 05:53 AM
JnC
Intermediate

Here is a quote by another member at HIDplanet to make you a believer that Retrofit > kit.

Originally Posted by LittoDeviL
I've been meaning to show you guys this and you guys can show this to everyone who's very stubborn about hid kits that claim that they are the best.