Lighting A place to ask questions about HIDs & other Lexus lights

Cheap SCxxx HIDs? Ebayers?

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-08, 07:21 AM
elucid8
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cheap SCxxx HIDs? Ebayers?

Really been thinking about a HID conversion for an SC400. I look at the more trustworthy websites and vendors like XenonDepot, though $225 is still a bit much for me. I was looking on eBay, and about 80-90% of the HID conversions feature those too-good-to-be-true sort of things, like lifetime warranties, no retrofitting, 3500 lumens, etc. Then there are some that are like $80 shipped, very fishy and I'm really doubting the authenticity of their products/customer service. I'm a student, so money is worth quite a bit for me, especially after I dropped around $3000 on college expenses.

eBay seemed like an okay place to turn to, though I don't really grasp an excellent concept of everything — people can leave feedback instantly, but their bulbs/ballasts might burn in a month, lights can start to flicker, etc. It would be great to find a 9006 conversion for under $200 (and that's pushing it) without any retrofitting or modding. I don't want to eat any more ramen noodles.

I've searched through this lighting forum and the SC400/300 car forum but I didn't gather much at all. Probably my most important consideration is that I buy something reliable and bright, and probably something with at least a 3-year warranty. Yeah, I know, I probably just went way past my $200 limit, but post up anyways. For the curious people, I'm going for the 6000k to give it a nice look yet not sacrifice much light output.

I found one for $180 shipped on eBay which looked the most reliable (though only had a 1-year warranty). HID eBayers have any opinions?

And if anybody around the Raleigh area has seen anything local, feel free to fill me in.
Old 01-14-08, 08:16 AM
Balling
Pole Position

jrt lighting dot com

ive had them in 3 of my cars for over a year no porblem