Lighting A place to ask questions about HIDs & other Lexus lights

How is the vision improvement in using HID Fogs

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-03, 01:41 AM
chin kwan
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How is the vision improvement in using HID Fogs

I am a Newbie here.. I own a 2002 IS300..

Please excuse me if I am asking a dumb question..

I have done the research here and it seems that getting a HID kit for the Foglights to match up with the stock HID lowbeams is a very popular mod here..

I have serached and read up on the forum and it seems most people have like the way it looks from the OUTSIDE...

My question : Is there a big improvement in terms of lighting up the road with the HID kit vs. the stock or aftermarket bulbs??

I would like to do this mod based on the looks from the outside but I find it hard to justify if I am not going to get any improvement when I am driving..

Basically, I find the stock fog lights to make a small difference. Turning my existing fogs on or off does not make a difference as the stock HIDS are so bright already.. The fogs merely light up the first 3 feet in front of the car better as the HID seems to throw light further...

Any personal expericence is much appreciated!!
Old 01-20-03, 02:02 AM
rominl
exclusive matchup

Received 190 Likes on 148 Posts

welcome to the club, don't hesitate to ask anything you want.

i don't have is300, so i can only speak about my experience from what i have -- acura tl type s.

it has clear fogs, and i put in 6000k fogs together with my 6000k headlight. on my car it makes a bit difference. it lights up more road and everything is clearer. i didn't get that at all (not even close) with my old stock halogen.

however in your car i am not 100% sure coz' you have yellow fogs and it's projective type.