Lighting A place to ask questions about HIDs & other Lexus lights

Replacing bulbs

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-03, 04:39 PM
snboarder8
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Replacing bulbs

hello, this is my first time writing on this website. i'm glad i found a forum to talk about my lexus. i have a low-beam light bulb that's out, but i don't want to go to the dealer and spend over $80 just to have it replaced when i can buy a bulb at the store for a few bucks. the only problem is, i have no clue how to replace the bulb. i looked in the manual and it doesn't explain anything, just says, "talk your car to the dealer to replace bulbs" anyway, i have a 1992 es 300. can someone please give me step-by-step instructions on how to replace the bulbs for the headlamps? i was also considering putting PIAA superwhites in instead of the regular halogen. thank you so much!
Old 02-23-03, 04:49 PM
Baby Lex
Driver

lets see if I can help. While the hood is open looking down, if it's the drivers/passenger side the low beam is closest to the fender. Basically you reach down after you located the proper light to be replaced and unplug the harness from the bulb first. You have to squeeze the clip and pull it off. Then grab the base of the bulb and turn to the left. It's hard at first but will give way. Then slide it out. When you put the new one in, take care not to touch the glass, if you do, use a soft cloth to remove oil,/dirt, whatever. Slide this bulb in and try not to scratch the glass when putting it back in. line it up so it fits in the grooves and turn to the right to secure it in place. then slide the harness back on the bulb. Your done. Pretty easy really. Turn on your lights to make sure its good. And off you go into the night. Hope this helps and was descriptive enough.
Old 02-23-03, 04:53 PM
snboarder8
Driver