LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Advice\debrief after my first spark plug change

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-23, 07:35 PM
400fanboy
Racer

Received 423 Likes on 330 Posts
Default Advice\debrief after my first spark plug change

Hi guys finally doing my own wrenching - I have lots of knowledge of the theory, but my real-practical knowledge is really limited. But I hope I'm dodging the painfully obvious questions and only asking specifics & clarification.

As part of this tune-up, I changed: Spark plugs, coolant temp sensor, cleaned the throttle body and tightened my throttle cable (again) another half turn of the nut to take up even more slack. Took me about 3 hours, as before now the most I'd ever done is changed a battery. Some suggested the connector clips would break as the plastic would be brittle. I had no issues, none of mine broke. But then again, this car has been garaged it's whole life and pretty well taken care of.

Took it for a drive after I was all done, car runs great, no issues no codes. Idles fine, full throttle feels great. I didn't drive it enough to determine differences in drivability - but I'm sure I'll post later if I notice anything.

Couple of questions.

1) Car didn't want to start at first. Took about 15 seconds of cranking, getting ever closer to catching before it finally painfully crawled into life. After it caught, it idled stable and was perfectly fine after this. I let the car idle for a few minutes, turn it off. Next time I started it, it caught instantly precisely as it should. Is this because of the throttle body cleaning? Residual cleaner in the intake causing harsh start? I didn't squirt any into the engine, I only cleaned the outside of the butterfly valve so I'm surprised there would be that much residual left...