LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Need help replacing power steering pump

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-24, 07:52 PM
RiasNoSweet
7th Gear

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Need help replacing power steering pump

This morning I posted about my power steering pump going bad, I want to attempt to replace it myself over the weekend, I’m not a mechanic by any means but I’d prefer to save the money and learn how to work on the car myself.

I wanted to ask for any advice before going into it and maybe any video recommendations that can help me along the way.

Much appreciated
The following users liked this post:
BNastee (02-15-24)
Old 02-14-24, 07:58 PM
400fanboy
Racer

Received 424 Likes on 331 Posts

http://www.lexls.com/tutorials/steer...mpremoval.html

This can and will vary depending on the year of your car, as things were changed over the 1UZ's lifetime.

If you're going to replace the pump - highly recommend replacing the IAC valve and the two associated vacuum lines leading to it while you're in there. It's like 7 cents in parts, but a royal pain in the *** to do with the pump still on the car. If you're taking it off, you should really service those too.
RiasNoSweet (02-14-24)
Old 02-14-24, 08:48 PM
bradland

Received 685 Likes on 561 Posts

Originally Posted by 400fanboy
http://www.lexls.com/tutorials/steer...mpremoval.html

This can and will vary depending on the year of your car, as things were changed over the 1UZ's lifetime.

If you're going to replace the pump - highly recommend replacing the IAC valve and the two associated vacuum lines leading to it while you're in there. It's like 7 cents in parts, but a royal pain in the *** to do with the pump still on the car. If you're taking it off, you should really service those too.
7 cents? As in 7 American Pennie’s..?!?
The valve is over $100.
The short hose is $40 and the longer of the 2 is almost $50.