LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

1996 Lexus LS400 - P0100 & P0101

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-24, 05:43 PM
lqchrispl
7th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1996 Lexus LS400 - P0100 & P0101

I have been chasing the fix to these codes (P0100 & P0101) for about 7 months now. I bought the car and the previous owner told me the ecu has been recapped and i went into the LS400 group in facebook and the guy who did it confirmed it for me so that is ruled out i think. I have tried 2 oem and 2 aftermarket air flow meters. I changed the connector that plugs into the maf. And also did some diagnosing from a repair manual that i had someone send me and everything looked like it checked out. My efi fuses r not blown and are getting 12 volts. So at this point im assuming i have some sort of short or open in the wiring harness but i really dont know how to go about this issue anymore.

Some symptoms my car has is, most of the time the engine doesn’t stay on on the first crank but always on the second, very strong gas smell but haven’t noticed any black smoke, my speedometer and tachometer stop working intermittently and i know that goes back to the ecu so i’d like some feedback on that, sometimes at 40 and/or 60 mph it will stop accelerating but if i let off the gas and press it down again it will continue accelerating like normal. And sometimes the engine wont turn over at all, but if i let it sit for a bit and go back to it, it will start fine. And i only get about 150-160 miles to a full gas tank

Any help will be greatly appreciated since i love this car but all these issues make it hard to be driven daily.

Thanks in advance
Old 05-28-24, 10:43 PM
Arsenii
Pole Position

Received 794 Likes on 666 Posts

Hello,

What happens when the MAF sensor is Disconnected?