LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

1995 LS400 - suggestions for what to tackle next (and how)

Search this Thread

Old Today, 03:26 PM
gmchueh
1st Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1995 LS400 - suggestions for what to tackle next (and how)

Hi all,

Let me start by saying I'm very grateful for this forum and for all of you who are actively posting and responding here. I'm a first-time poster but a long-time lurker, and if it weren't for the invaluable info from here, I wouldn't have gathered the courage to buy my 1995 LS400, which was a long-time dream of mine. For context: I'm a lover of this model (and of big boxy sedans from the 80s and 90s in general), but I'm totally new to the world of cars/classic cars. I have no mechanical abilities and no tools, space, or time to work on the car myself. With that in mind, I honestly feel a bit like a fish out of water here (my father still thinks I'm crazy for "risking" my money on a "gamble" like an old car), but you all know the feeling. When you like the LS400, you simply like it, period.

Some extra context: I bought the car for $6k in late June after negotiating down from $8k. The car looked to be in excellent condition for its age—basically a single owner its whole life, always garage-kept, 115k miles, the interior looks brand new, no major known issues. The guy I bought it from got it in 2020 and kept it in the garage unused to give to his 16-year-old daughter; turns out she didn't want it ("too old"), so he sold it to me. The only problem in the pre-purchase inspection was that the brake was pulling left, and the steering column/wheel had a few electronic issues (stuck up in the rest position/no tilt, the airbag light was on, the horn didn't work). Since I'm not mechanically savvy, I spent some extra time and due diligence finding an honest and trustworthy mechanic who could help me bring it back to shape.