LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Shift Lock Solenoid

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-08, 10:57 PM
en11871
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Shift Lock Solenoid

Hi,

Just wondering if the replacing the Shift Lock Solenoid will fix the clicking sound when the car is in Park and brake pedal is pressed? The click was a bitter quieter back then, but recently it has become louder. My mechanic mentioned that is the part that is needed. I just want to double check with you guys. Thanks.
Old 01-20-08, 12:13 PM
GRAND_LS 4
3UZ-FEEEE

Received 18 Likes on 13 Posts

Maybe some grease might help?
Old 01-20-08, 12:32 PM
en11871
Driver

Post shift lock solenoid...greasing

Hi,

Thanks! I'm a newbie. So do you mean greasing the solenoid? PLMK. Thanks.
Old 01-20-08, 06:23 PM
qha_vn
Pole Position

I dont think you need to grease the solenoid, clinking sound means that the solenoid is working repeatedly (on and off continuously) because of bad contact of the shifter switch. The shifter switch senses P position and send a signal to solenoid to release shifter lock when you depress brake pedal

the one to replace/ clean should be the shift lock switch, not the solenoid. I am having similar issue with my shiftlock control but cant find the replacement part. I now need to use Shift lock override button instead
Old 01-21-08, 10:24 AM
nawls400
Rookie

Default okay so...

that little button down by the shifter ( I have a '91 ls400) is that supposed to be able to be pushed mine seems to be broken, or can you tell me what is that little button's function at least?
Old 01-21-08, 05:47 PM
en11871
Driver

Post Shift Lock problems

Originally Posted by qha_vn