LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

stock air suspension problems

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-12, 11:37 AM
deanshark
Pole Position

Received 313 Likes on 270 Posts
Default stock air suspension problems

The symptoms I'm getting are with the rear, front is fine. The back shocks drop like there's no air. If I switch the control to "high" nothing happens but if I drive it for about 10 miles they will raise up and stay good for a while, sometimes 1 day, sometimes 2 or more. I can't hear if the compressor is working b/c I have a very loud noise coming from a servo motor on the heater assembly. No codes come up when I check it. I've never worked on this system before and I don't have my manual. Question is, what and how do I check? Any input is appreciated.
Old 06-24-12, 07:09 AM
deanshark
Pole Position

I figure it's a loose electrical connection somewhere b/c it's intermitent. I can turn on the compressor from the ECU so I know that's good but it still wont pump up the rear shocks. I need to check more when I get a shot but from what I've read elsewhere it might be the connection on the alternator. (Of course the PS fluid is leaking on it) Everything is starting to go wrong at the same time with this car.
Old 07-01-12, 08:39 AM
deanshark
Pole Position

Well,.......it has done it again. I went out this morning and the rear was dropped to the ground. It's been fine all week so I didn't think about it. But now I'm almost convinced the rear height sensors are effected by the heat somehow. It was 98 and very humid yesterday, same as when it happened last week. Has there been any common problems with these sensors, over the years or maybe condensation in the air lines?
Old 07-01-12, 09:48 AM
j2b4o
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Next time the rear is inflated just turn the system off in the trunk. This should disable the valves so if it is due to a short of some sort it should stay inflated.