LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

General Good Habits

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-16, 01:11 AM
Uiriamu
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default General Good Habits

Hey there. I've been driving for 3 years now (no accidents nor citations ) and I've been driving a 92 LS400 this whole time.
I have a great feel for the car and can tell when something is wrong, but to be honest there's a whole lot I don't know about my car or cars in general. i know how to change a tire, check the oil, etc, but I don't know all the things that should be common sense. I plan to buy a 2000 LS400 in the near future and that one I plan to take care of it from day one but for that I have to learn with my current one.
I drive 350+ Miles per week; 95% for work.
I live in sunny, smoggy LA.

The things I want to know are:
  • What things to inspect every day before I drive
  • What things to inspect every week
  • What things to Inspect every month or so
  • How often do I need to put coolant in my vehicle
  • When do I flush it all out and put new coolant
  • What type of coolant
  • Same things for transmission oil and engine oil and not sure if it applies but power steering and brake fluid as well
  • When to change oil filter
  • When do I replace my brakes
  • When do I replace my suspension
  • When do I replace my shocks and struts
Thats all I know that are things I need to be aware of but I'm sure there's other things I'm missing which I would appreciate if y'all let me know. I plan to do an inspection checklist when I routinely check my vehicle. Also, which type of motor and transmission oil is best as well as coolant. Oh, also, I don't know if I'm over thinking it, but it's been a very long time since I had to put in motor oil in my vehicle but everytime I check the needle it says full, but when I smell it, it gives off this burnt oil smell, but the car itself is fine and whatnot.

Thanks in advance.