LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Timing Belt Replacement URGENT

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-19, 09:29 AM
Hobie16
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Timing Belt Replacement URGENT

Hi All,

So I just did the Timing Belt on my '99 LS400... And I have a sporadic CEL for P1349 and P1351 (VVT Camshaft Position Sensor Range/Performance Problem.) The codes are bank 1 and 2 codes. They will appear a day or two after clearing, and no operational issues are noted with the engine AFTER the change, It runs great, but with a noticable performance change. I'm lucky in that regard... Phweew...

Anyways, I am a first year apprentice with Toyota, so I have access to TIS and Techtool etc, followed the instructions to the tee (and boy do they make you jump around). I haven't pulled everything apart to check the timing yet but will be doing so today and/or tomorrow. So here are my questions...

1. With the Crank set to 0* (TDC), the notches on the sprochets should line up with the LINES?
2. With the Engine/Pulley advanced to 50* ATDC (Idler Pulley Bolt, as per instructions), the Notches should line up with the T that is to the right of the LINE?
3. What is the Torque Spec for the Bolts on the Ends of the Cams. I accidentally loosened one and couldn't find a torque spec for it...
4. Can I adjust the Timing of the Engine WITHOUT Removing everything again (ie: Can I remove the Upper Cam Covers and the tensioner, and get away with it that way?)
Old 03-21-19, 01:15 PM
Hobie16
Driver School Candidate

Update,

Pulled #3 T/C Covers off (Upper0), Both Cams late by 1 tooth. Confirmed theory of skipping on the crank pulley. So my question now is how much room is there for the timing to be off before damage/destruiiton can occur? The engine runs great as-is.

ALSO: If you don't know what you're talking about, I don't want any "You're Screwed" comments. Serious only please!
Old 03-21-19, 01:19 PM
bradland