LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

91 ls 400 - brakes gone crazy! Must read

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-19, 12:17 PM
pacerdonfl
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 91 ls 400 - brakes gone crazy! Must read

I have two 91 Lex 400's. Been working on/around cars 50 years (I'm not a "certified" mechanic, but an engineer by trade).

This concerens my Lex with 150k miles on it - bought 2 yrs ago at 124k miles. Driving like a dream. Put new pads on front about 18 mos ago.

2 mos ago replaced rear brake pads. Simple job, no mess, all fine for about 3 weeks.
Then one day I was driving down a city road about 50-60 mph and all of a sudden it sounded and felt like I was running over rumble strips (the road was perfectly smooth) - very scary.
I pulled over to the side, looked under and all around, expecting to see a wheel falling off - all good, nothing loose.
I scratched my head, got back in the car and drove down the road and was all fine.
This happened randomly 3 more times in the next 10 days - all very scary - a heavy "thump, thump, thump" and vehicle jerking.....
I could only think my abs was going wacko, and not knowing anything about that, took out the fuse/breaker - not good. Put fuse/breaker back in.
Hasn't happened again since then - for about 4-5 weeks.
Now - the real mystery is, my brake reservoir has come to empty 3 times since this stuff began. That I discover when the brakes all of a sudden go almost to the floor.
So - three times I fill the reservoir to top, the brakes self bleed(?) in a day and are again working perfectly.

I CAN SEE NO VISIBLE (LEAKING?) BRAKE FLUID ANYWHERE NOWHERE!!!???
WHERE IS IT GOING?
THE BOOSTER (POWER BRAKE) IS WORKING FINE.

I have purchased a new master cylinder but not installed it yet.

Thanks for any thoughts.....

/Don
Old 04-10-19, 02:36 PM
sha4000
Lexus Test Driver

Received 337 Likes on 290 Posts