LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Looking to build the engine on my 1999 LS400

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-19, 08:31 PM
shiflet96
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking to build the engine on my 1999 LS400

I recently bought a 1999 LS400 in really nice shape with the intention of building the engine, as I'm currently taking classes for my ASE certification and would like to get some practice outside of school.
So to get the biggest question out of the way, what kind of power can the stock block and transmission take? I would love to make around 400whp, but I'm not entirely sure if the engine can make that much. I have seen supercharger kits, but I'm also not entirely sure what supporting modifications need to be made. Keep in mind that this is my first build, so I'm not the most knowledgeable and I'm also just wanting straight line performance, regardless of the handling. I have eventual plans to swap the engine into a first gen Celica if I can ever find one in decent condition, to basically make a Japanese muscle car.

It wouldn't really feel right not to post pics, so here ya go
https://imgur.com/gallery/gQ9z8vI?nid=828027582
Old 07-10-19, 09:07 PM
RA40
Super Moderator

Received 470 Likes on 362 Posts

Welcome to Club Lexus and congrats on the LS.

The stock engine management is the limiting factor with it being locked by Toyota. Aftermarket units are the choice and with your intended goal of swapping it into a first gen Celica your options are open. The guys down under in Australia and NZ have plenty of discussions on their forums regarding Celica mods. I haven't read through lately but it is accessible.

For the first gen there are suspension parts from this site:
https://technotoytuning.com/toyota/ta22
Old 07-10-19, 09:48 PM
YODAONE
Lexus Champion

Received 410 Likes on 348 Posts

Originally Posted by shiflet96