LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Toyota upper cylinder head cleaning kit

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-21 | 11:06 AM
YODAONE
Pole Position

Default Toyota upper cylinder head cleaning kit

Toyota offers an upper cylinder head kit designed to dissolve/remove carbon build-up from intake passages, valves, cylinder heads, pistons and piston rings...

Yes, other products out there....

So the question is whether anyone has used this particular product, and, if so, what were your results?

Thank you.

Last edited by RA40; 03-08-21 at 11:13 PM. Reason: link tag
Old 03-09-21 | 09:13 AM
timmy0tool

interesting! never knew that toyota had this, so i have no first hand experience to share.

wondering if this can clean up the carbon deposits on direct injection engines like the IS250 which is notorious for carbon buildup...likely cannot clean it completely unlike walnut blasting can but it may be worth a shot (if not to expensive). how much is the kit?
Old 03-09-21 | 05:15 PM
Yamae

Originally Posted by YODAONE
Toyota offers an upper cylinder head kit designed to dissolve/remove carbon build-up from intake passages, valves, cylinder heads, pistons and piston rings...

https://youtu.be/IvhPybUDia4

Yes, other products out there....

So the question is whether anyone has used this particular product, and, if so, what were your results?

Thank you.
Thanks for the introduction, Yoda.
I now know that Toyota sells something similar there in US. But I never knew those when I was working there. Toyota sells these below in Japan and I use the one at the far left to clean the air mix path like this way. It works very well. This cleaner must be similar to the throttle plate cleaner sold in US. You can view Toyota's cleaners sold in Japan more at the home page of Toyota. I think only some of these are sold in US.

Old 03-09-21 | 07:59 PM
YODAONE
Pole Position

Originally Posted by Yamae
Thanks for the introduction, Yoda.