LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

1996 Celsior Radio Troubleshooting

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-21, 01:42 PM
jmarenusb
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1996 Celsior Radio Troubleshooting

Hello all. I've been lurking on the forums for a while now and finally decided to register. I have a 1996 Toyota Celsior that was just imported from Japan a couple months ago. It is the Type C model and has the factory navigation (which still works great thank god). The amplifier is a pioneer and is located under the drivers seat on this model. I'm having an issue with the radio/audio system in the car. There is no sound coming form the speakers whatsoever, the volume **** is inop, and the button lights on the radio receiver assembly do not illuminate with all the other dash lights. I have been troubleshooting so far with the US wiring diagram books for the LS400 (a 1996 book and a 1998 book. The 1996 LS400 didn't have navi as an option but the 1998 did). I have checked the following fuses for the circuit listed in the US diagram: Dome (JDM has dome front and dome rear fuse?), Radio No.1 and Radio No.2. All 4 fuses have continuity through them. I took a look at the harness connectors on the amplifier and the wire colors and connectors themselves do not match up with the US wiring diagram. I have also done the ole hard reset by unplugging the battery for a good 20 minutes and reconnecting. I'm curious if anybody has dealt with something similar before and has pointers or better yet, a way for me to get ahold of a JDM wiring diagram for this circuit. Looking at the other threads I found most people attempting to install aftermarket head units, amps, speakers, etc. I would like to keep all of my factory components if possible, especially since the HVAC controls and audio controls are also integrated in the navigation touch screen. Thank you all in advance,
Jonah
Old 08-08-21, 12:27 AM
Arsenii