LS - 3rd Gen (2001-2006) Discussion topics related to the flagship Lexus LS430

2004 Ultra Front Suspension

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-07 | 12:00 PM
russg
10th Gear

Default 2004 Ultra Front Suspension

I've got a beautiful '04 Ultra, which of course means it has the goofy air suspension system. The car only has 20k miles in it, I bought it last year with only 11k on it. I think the car is about perfect in every way, except for an issue with the front suspension that I noticed when I bought the car, and seems to be even more annoying now. The car telegraphs road imperfections through the steering wheel at a level that I would describe as being totaly out of character for a car of this class and substance. Referring to the phenomenon as "Bump Steer" would not be an exageration. It seems to be more sensitive to road irregularities driven over by he left front wheel than the right front wheel, but both experience it to a degree.

Before buying this car, I have been a driver of Infinitis for the last 15 years. Neither of my Q45s or my M45 displayed this annoying behavior. Furthermore, I just got back from a 1,500 mile road trip driving my wife's '07 AWD RX350, and it certainly doesn't have the problem. Of course, none of those vehicles have air suspension, which is where I'm guessing the root of the problem lies.