LS - 3rd Gen (2001-2006) Discussion topics related to the flagship Lexus LS430

Do our cars "memorize" the driver's style??

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-09, 01:37 PM
jeffbayne
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Do our cars "memorize" the driver's style??

Ok, first of all, a buddy of mine has an Audi A6. He said the computer would gradually learn his style of driving- ie. heavy throttle off the line...etc... and would begin to shift at a higher RPM.

I've been driving my 01 UL for two months now. The guy i bought it from is the type to hit it hard starting out- every time. Me being a slower, gas saving driver with a need for speed exhausted in a Viper, notice that the shifting levels sort of want me to hit the gas harder. I'm not saying there is a problem- I'm sure there isn't, but I'll be doing say 35-40 and push on the gas ever so slightly to get up to 45, and it will downshift and launch- just like its used to doing with an aggressive driver.

I would not think anything of this except for what Audi apparently does.

Any thoughts? thanks,
jeff
Old 05-06-09, 01:51 PM
xuserx04
Lead Lap

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Yeah i put well over 50 000 miles on my Ls in the last 16 month and i get that "downshift and launch" feeling too. No idea what it is thou

???
Old 05-06-09, 01:57 PM
hrp
Rookie

Cars with computers actually do "learn" the driver's style of driving, especially if only one or two people usually drive the car. If you wish the car to "reset' back to the factory defaults, disconnect the battery overnight. But you'll also have to reset most of the rest of your "settings" from radio to seat memory. Below is from a 16 Jan 09 post on this site by DrJfrmLA: