LS - 3rd Gen (2001-2006) Discussion topics related to the flagship Lexus LS430

Dealer change oil for $66.00 plus tax, Good price?

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-10, 12:48 PM
lovelexus2
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dealer change oil for $66.00 plus tax, Good price?

my 02 LS430 is about to change oil, called Grapevine Park and place Lexus dealer, the girl who answer the phone told me oil change is $66.00 plus tax, it is my first time changing oil at dealership. is that a good price for changing oil at dealer? and is there anything else I should ask ?
thanks
Old 02-01-10, 12:55 PM
Jabberwock

Received 205 Likes on 168 Posts

Its a decent price at a Lexus dealer, I have heard many charge more. Is that for synthetic or regular dyno oil?

You can call around to the DFW Lexus dealers and check prices for a regular oil change - they do vary. I have also heard of folks having the oil change done at a Toyota dealer - that can be much cheaper. My daughter used to get her 4runner oil change in Georgia at the Toyota dealer for $19.95.
Old 02-01-10, 12:56 PM
StanVanDam
Instructor

Received 206 Likes on 155 Posts

Sounds like a decent price for dealer service. My 72000km Lubrication Service was $80 or $90 CAD before tax for 5W-20.

You should ask if they are going to do the Lubrication Service, ie. locks/latches/hinges (which includes sunroof rails, fuel door hinge, trunk strut ball joints, etc), or if it is purely an oil change and nothing else.

Your 02 LS430 takes 5W-30 per OEM spec, but for better fuel efficiency and for cold winter starting, they may use 5W-20. Ask them about it.

See thread https://www.clublexus.com/forums/ls4...-question.html
Old 02-01-10, 01:13 PM
sojah
Lead Lap

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

that is reasonable for dealership prices but i usually try to find a mom and pop shop to do it for like $25
Old 02-01-10, 01:38 PM
honeygee2
Pole Position

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts