My First LS

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-10, 07:28 AM
lysander6
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My First LS

My first post.

I have been a lurker here for awhile. I have been shopping for a 2001 Lexus LS430 for six months and finally pulled the trigger yesterday.

I bought a 2001 LS430 w/69k miles for 13k. It is the Ultra Luxury package with the ivory interior and it is pristine except for a bumper ding in the passenger front. Gold exterior. I am a little apprehensive about the nav unit and its imbedded controls but it is 100%.

Got it from Lexus of Chandler in AZ. I kept calling on it hoping they would lower the price, apparently they have had lots of interest but folks had a hard time getting a loan against it. Complete maintenance docs and serviced at the dealer.

Unfortunately, it came with only one key and no owner's manuals. Any recommendations on these two items?

BTW, I had a bead on a 2001 LS430 in CA with 39k miles but it was sold when I called back.

The only Lexus I have owned before is a 1997 LX450 and it was a great vehicle. I don't know how Lexus does it but the 2001 was a banner year for reliability according to Consumer Reports. What other maker can do that with a pilot year for a new model?
Old 09-12-10, 07:33 AM
sojah
Lead Lap

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

congrats on a good looking low mileage excellent deal on an ls430. ohh yeah and welcome to the club.
Old 09-12-10, 07:34 AM
kg19989
Lead Lap

Congrats and welcome! She looks gorgeous. Keep an eye out... a manual will pop up. Worst case put the local junkyards on high alert. For the other key, I would say suck it up and pay a visit back to the Lexus dealership. Just my thoughts. Good luck!
Old 09-12-10, 08:08 AM
caddyowner
Lead Lap

Received 13 Likes on 9 Posts

Welcome and congrats. On online owners manual is available at the owners section of Lexus.com. They say you can also request a hardcopy to be sent to you, but I never received one.
Old 09-12-10, 08:17 AM