LS - 3rd Gen (2001-2006) Discussion topics related to the flagship Lexus LS430

When should water pump be replaced? Im no expert but....

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-10, 11:17 AM
usermel
Lexus Test Driver

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Smile When should water pump be replaced? Im no expert but....

....I called my local dealers service department today and something confusing happened. I called to ask about the annual discounts they give during Christmas about 20% of or more. Heck, may be 15% this year but, I cant complain. A discount is a discount! That said, the service rep I talk to most said to me when I asked about the water pump being replaced(reason I inquired about the annual discount for cheaper cost to have water pump replaced) "is it leaking?" and I said "No, not yet. I was just asking so I could do it before it needs to." She then said "You also will need to replace the timing belt at that time as well." I then remarked "I already did the timing belt. I didnt know I should do them at the same time when I did so, Im trying to do the water pump now."

She the explained when I told her there is no need to replace the water pump unless its leaking or you smell coolant or the car overheats. She said those are the signs it should be replaced. She explained then do so because shes seen them go 180,000-200,000 without having to be replaced. I was shocked. I understand people do them both at the same time so they dont have to pay extra if the water pump goes out at say 140,000 or less or a bit more miles. I totally understand why people replace the water pumps then at 90,000 with the timing belt, not trying to debate it or say not to do it at all. Please dont think thats why I started this thread gents/ladies!