LS - 3rd Gen (2001-2006) Discussion topics related to the flagship Lexus LS430

should i replace the rear bumper myself?

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-11, 10:50 PM
danxp
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default should i replace the rear bumper myself?

my rear bumper has been needing some love for a long time now... got an estimate from a body shop and they said it would be about 1100 or so...

did a little research and found out i could get a brand new oem bumper from sewell for about $400 shipped... why can't i just prime it and paint it and put it on myself?

sure, i've never done anything like this before, but how hard could it be? if someone could just guide me through the bumper removal process that would be great...

yeah and the priming and painting and all the rear parking sensor stuff... in fact, could somebody just come over and do it all for me? j/k =)

i figure i would approach this project as follows:
- order rear bumper cover (w/sensor cutouts) from sewell.
- remove old bumper, leave sensors attached?
- remove chrome molding from old bumper
- prime new bumper - where to get this?
- paint new bumper oem black to match car - where to get this? do i also need clearcoat?
- install new bumper (and old sensors)
- install old chrome molding on new bumper

i know, i'm probably going to need supporting parts and the like, but shouldn't that be basically it?

if i could get some assistance, maybe it could be a diy-write up...

Last edited by danxp; 05-09-11 at 10:54 PM.
Old 05-09-11, 11:11 PM
CarGuy89
Lexus Test Driver

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

I don't have any paint experience at all, but it seems that the hardest part would be color matching it so you have a uniform shade of color from your rear quarter panels/trunk to your bumper. The actual installation shouldn't be too bad. Don't know if sensors are attached or not.
Old 05-09-11, 11:21 PM
Mr.Doback
Driver