Mark Levinson speakers GONE -> Kicker system to come

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-12, 03:45 PM
MEPEH
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mark Levinson speakers GONE -> Kicker system to come

Good Day forum members...
This is my first thread on this forum and my task here is to show everyone how to upgrade the speakers on their LS 430.
My build will include pictures and a step by step guide on removing and installing speakers/tweeters/woofer and amplifier in our beloved Lexus.

Before i start the the actual thread there's a couple of things that i need to mention.

Car: 2003 Lexus LS with Mark Levinson system and Navigation

1. I wouldn't be replacing this components unless they were defective. I'm not looking for getto bass or huge performance improvements. Just a Lexus Style music.
I listen to all kinds of music including Hip Hop and would like the "natural" sound of bass, which lacks in Mark Levinson

2. I'm not a professional installer, i have a daily job that doesn't involve fixing cars, however all the maintenance on my cars, i do it myself. I have a certification from Bosch for working on their products. (car electronics), however, that was back in the early 2000 and haven't put too much attention into it. I have also changed about 45 cars and I'm 29 years old. So i have a pretty good idea of what's involved in having a good sound in the car (not loud, just clear)

3. I will avoid scientific terms here. I know how annoying is to make a simple DIY guide and start pretending like you are the smartest person on earth and simple users like us, just loose the idea. For everyone that wants to go professional and scientific, please visit dedicated audio forums. English is not my first Language, I came from Russia 4 years ago so some of my terms may sound lame but pictures will help the words

Thread will be divided in a few posts:

1: Description of the stock Mark Levinson System