LS - 3rd Gen (2001-2006) Discussion topics related to the flagship Lexus LS430

When to drop collision coverage.

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-16, 01:33 PM
Bocatrip
Lead Lap

Received 277 Likes on 233 Posts
Default When to drop collision coverage.

As we all know our cars are a depreciating asset. As they age, eventually (unless a classic from the onset) they will all be pretty much depreciated out to a very small sum of 3-5 Thousand.. At what point must we make the decision it is no longer cost effective to keep collision on our insurance policy as it is costing hundreds each year and our car has little value and less after the deductable? Regardless how much I love my 01 LS430 which is in spectacular condition....bottom line it is still an "Old Car" and if totalled would not bring me much more than 5 or even 6K? I am a careful driver with no accidents for almost my entire lifetime of driving.. Should I be spending Hundreds a year to preserve such a small value? I have a $500 deductable. What do you guys think?

Last edited by Bocatrip; 08-18-16 at 01:54 PM.
Old 08-18-16, 01:55 PM
jimbosr1
Pole Position

Received 168 Likes on 128 Posts

i have my 93 sc400 with full coverage which adds $200 a year.if stolen or recked by a uninsured driver i will receive some coverage,without it you have nothing.personal call.
there isnt a right answer imo.
Old 08-18-16, 02:06 PM
MiserLS400
Driver School Candidate

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts