LS - 3rd Gen (2001-2006) Discussion topics related to the flagship Lexus LS430

Anyone here have experience replacing the rear differential carrier oil seal?

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-18, 11:27 AM
SMCK
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Anyone here have experience replacing the rear differential carrier oil seal?

Aka rear pinion seal.

Had the car in for a major service last winter, drove it for a few months and then parked it for a few months due to work.
Came back to find it'd been drooling differential fluid all over so I took it to a warm garage and poked around a bit.
The differential is leaking a bit from the drain plug and there also appears to be a pretty big leak where the drive shaft connects to the diff.
I had the dealer source that seal for me but I've never done this job before so I was hoping someone else had some experience with it.
Anything in particular I should be wary of here, and do I need any special tools?

Also I checked the differential fluid level and curiously, despite the fact that it'd been sitting around dripping for months, fluid gushed out of the fill plug when I undid the bolt. The car was level. I'm guessing this is what made it bleed.
Old 07-06-18, 11:45 AM
WindyCity1
Driver School Candidate

Received 25 Likes on 6 Posts

I am a pretty hard-core Do It Yourself'er, having rebuilt entire cars and even a Laycock de Normanville overdrive before. When it comes to rear pinion seals - that's a job I always farm out. I'm lucky that I have a good axle shop nearby, and I know there are ways to make sure you get the preload on the bearings right - but that's not something I want to gamble on.
From your situation, I might try cleaning the vent on diff, refilling it with fluid, cleaning all the old traces of oil, and see what happens.
Old 07-06-18, 01:35 PM
SMCK
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts