buying a 2006 LS430

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-18, 08:23 PM
woaitaimei
Rookie

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
Default buying a 2006 LS430

Hey everyone,

Lexus newbie here - I am looking to acquire a 2006 LS430 from a dealership.

What are some wear and tear items I should be looking for?

I found some information like door actuators and dead batteries - are there more items to take caution on?

its a 2006 with 41k miles. Asking for 14.8k

https://www.santamargaritatoyota.com...a-Margarita-CA

Old 11-01-18, 08:36 PM
bradland

Received 689 Likes on 564 Posts

41K is prob too early for the wear and tear process to start! Check the date code on the tires. If they are original they should be replaced regardless of wear.
Has the timing belt ever been replaced?
Old 11-01-18, 08:43 PM
woaitaimei
Rookie

Originally Posted by bradland
41K is prob too early for the wear and tear process to start! Check the date code on the tires. If they are original they should be replaced regardless of wear.
Has the timing belt ever been replaced?
i will inspect the car in person and find out....

its got a clean carfax but the maintenance record is kind of sporadic....the oil changes weren't always done in a timely manner which worries me about its future reliability.

Either way, thanks for alerting me about the timing belt- definitely something I will look into because its a costly repair
Old 11-01-18, 09:02 PM
bradland

Received 689 Likes on 564 Posts

Don't expect to find much of a maintenance record with mileage so low. It could be completely empty with the exception of oil changes. LS motors are bullet proof, a few untimely oil changes in the first 40k wont make a bit of difference in the long run.
Old 11-02-18, 05:07 AM
Johnhav430
Lexus Fanatic

Received 372 Likes on 346 Posts