LS - 4th Gen (2007-2017) Discussion topics related to the current flagship models LS460, LS460L and LS600H

looking at a 2008 - things to look for?

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-23, 03:57 PM
rmak
Intermediate

Received 138 Likes on 102 Posts
Default looking at a 2008 - things to look for?

I am looking at a 2008 LS 460, just over 110k. Wondering about trouble items. After searching this forum I am aware of control arms and other suspension items. According to the records it has had valve springs replaced around 35k. I will look for the coolant on the transmission bellhousing for the lifter valley leak. I did not see any repairs to the brake system for the ABS controller.

Are there any other issues that I should be concerned with? I am a mechanic so smaller issues are no problem.

Thank you in advance!

Ron
Old 10-11-23, 04:10 PM
swfla
Lead Lap

Received 1,282 Likes on 991 Posts

see FAQ at top of forum. also the sticky vinyl interior is an issue that may be disguised with a dressing temporarily
The following users liked this post:
rmak (10-11-23)
Old 10-11-23, 04:18 PM
rmak
Intermediate

Not sure how I missed that....... A lot of great info thank you!
Old 10-11-23, 05:38 PM
rmak
Intermediate

This car has had the complete interior replaced (door panels, dash, glove box etc.), fuel rail, valve springs and adjusters, water pump, and fuel pressure sensor gasket replaced. Do not see anything about ABS. Looks like the major issues have been addressed under warranty/recall. Just wondering about the lifter valley leak possibility. It is clean with no accidents reported, but man it has had its share of the early 460 factory issues.

As a mechanic of 45 years, I always wonder about the tech's doing the work. A few of these items are pretty extensive.

With all of the experience on here, what is a 2008 460 like this worth? Asking price is 14k. Seems a little high.

Last edited by rmak; 10-11-23 at 05:43 PM.
Old 10-11-23, 05:57 PM
swfla
Lead Lap