LS - 4th Gen (2007-2017) Discussion topics related to the current flagship models LS460, LS460L and LS600H

LS 460 O2 Sensor Replacement bank 1 Sensor 1 & Bank 2 Sensor 1

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-24, 01:28 AM
Gaberomero
Rookie

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Default LS 460 O2 Sensor Replacement bank 1 Sensor 1 & Bank 2 Sensor 1

I just replaced my much dreaded bank 1 sensor 1 due to CEL P2238 code - mine is 07 LS 460L but should be same for all years

( driver side ) oxygen sensor. There's really not too much simple direction help on this to my surprise. It's not the simplest diy but not the hardest when you really get down to it. I want to help others after tackling this.. especially due to how expensive a repair these are if you take it to a shop.
here is the simplest instructions I can give.. I'm not a mechanic just a diy'r so please excuse my lack of correct wording for things.

here's how to do it:

● disconnect negative battery cable
● Remove the aluminum skid plate
● Remove both frame braces driver & passenger side
( or whatever side you're doing )
● Remove torsion bar bolts (2 bolts) on each - drive side and passenger side

now you should be able to see the 02 sensor
● unscrew o2 sensor ( I heated mine up with a torch lighter and it came off easy ) it did look original

● Remove the plastic clip from the metal bracket
( you're going to reuse this so install this piece to your new sensor )
● tuck the sensor behind the exhaust pipe so you have full access to the harness.
● take a long thin flat head screw driver to the 9 o'clock side of the harness and gently unclip the plastic tab connector while tugging on the sensor to unclip
( this takes patience to get it off. I read for most people this was the hardest part but for me it surprisingly unclipped on the first try after trying for a while with a long right angle ( 90° pick I was told I needed by a mechanic that did one ( the pick was worthless for me but you may find it useful