LS - 4th Gen (2007-2017) Discussion topics related to the current flagship models LS460, LS460L and LS600H

Regular Oil...confused

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-12, 07:04 PM
stas2007
Rookie

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Regular Oil...confused

Ok so I was under the assumption that my 2007 LS takes synthetic oil, however after my first oil change I found out that its regular oil ( "synthetic blend"- is dealers fancy way to say regular oil).
Now something here doesn't add up:
I am not a mechanic but have very good knowledge on cars and even taken up a few cars, from my knowledge you change regular oil every 3k mile, fully synthetic every 10k miles. So where do 5k miles intervals as dealer recommends come from if you use regular oil? I would believe that but also noticed that my car feels less smooth and powerful approaching 4k miles after oil change.

Personally I had great luck with synthetic royal purple, and my best friend mechanic only puts it in anything he has(including his 800hp lancer evo) Considering dealer oil change cost 70$ for regular oil; for that money I can buy fully synthetic RP oil with K&N filter at wallmart and DIY.

Does anyone else thinks that its strange that we have 5k intervals for regular oil?
The following users liked this post:
EazyLS460 (06-09-22)
Old 05-10-12, 10:08 PM
Mikey100
Lead Lap

Default The Lexus' Oil Viscosity Applicability and Change Interval Guide

Originally Posted by stas2007
Ok so I was under the assumption that my 2007 LS takes synthetic oil, however after my first oil change I found out that its regular oil ( "synthetic blend"- is dealers fancy way to say regular oil).
Now something here doesn't add up: