LS - 4th Gen (2007-2017) Discussion topics related to the current flagship models LS460, LS460L and LS600H

Questions On Custom Wheels

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-12, 05:10 AM
LS430black
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Questions On Custom Wheels

I'm thinking about changing to 20" wheels and have visited some threads. But since I'm very new to changing wheel size, there are some points I'm refused:
1. In the Wheels and Tires thread, I don't know why members have to mention the offset? What role does it play?
2. For those who ride on 20" or above, why do they need to choose wider rear wheels while the front ones are thinner? Why not all same size? What happen if I go with 4 same wheel sizes?
3. For 20" wheels, do we need to change anything in the wheel area?
4. For the TPMS, what do we have to do after plugging in the new wheels?
5. What is the best size for the best comfort when it comes to 20" wheels for LS460?
Thank you very much.
Old 06-04-12, 06:23 AM
GregCon
Driver

Received 12 Likes on 7 Posts

Offset is everything when it comes to fit - that is why it is mentioned. Same for smaller in front and bigger in back - you can fit more in back. It's all in an effort to avoid the dreaded rubbing that will occur if you get it wrong just a little.
Old 06-04-12, 07:16 AM
Falbz
Pole Position

Received 11 Likes on 8 Posts

20" wheels with the right offset will fit with no issues on our car. I suggest going with 22" wheels as they fill up the wheel well much nicer and they do not give up any drive ability.

Whatever size you end up going with all you have to do is move the TPMS sensors from your oem wheels to the new set and you will be good to go.
Old 06-04-12, 07:49 AM
LS430black
Pole Position

22" wheels do look nice but the ride is too harsh which may not fit the roads in my place, they are filled with holes, riding on these wheels would be a pain, that's a pity! And how abt the different wheel width? Can I go with 4 same wheel sizes?