LS - 4th Gen (2007-2017) Discussion topics related to the current flagship models LS460, LS460L and LS600H

Navigation problem

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-14, 08:02 AM
hms09
Pole Position

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Navigation problem

My 2007 LS460 navigation system has lost its mind. Is there any way to reboot it or go back to default? I had it updated about a month ago and it was fine. Then all of a sudden its giving me false information/location. Any help greatly appreciated.
Old 09-30-14, 05:12 AM
wbrian63
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

How false is the information?

If you're just "a little off" there's a way to calibrate the location of the car on the map. I saw it this AM - I think it's one of the last options on the 3rd screen for natigation settings.

If the error is large, does it act up no matter your location, or is it confined to a specific area?

To me (and I'm a newbie in this area), localized errors are a problem with the GPS signal i.e. interference.

If the problem is wide-spread, then maybe there's something amiss with the GPS antenna or the Navi system itself.

Since you updated just a month ago - I'd involve Lexus in this problem - even Navigation updates are warrantied for 12/12000.
Old 09-30-14, 06:32 AM
jmcraney

Received 270 Likes on 205 Posts

wbrian63,

I think your advice is very good.

hms09,

I think your car is not receiving the GPS signal and is operating in the DR mode. Lots of possibilities for causes. There is a direct indication on your nav screen to show when the GPS signal is being received. You need to check and let us know if you are receiving the GPS signal.

Here are some links to threads that might be helpful:

https://www.clublexus.com/forums/ls4...n-problem.html

https://www.clublexus.com/forums/ls4...s-jammers.html

https://www.clublexus.com/forums/ls4...s-2012-ls.html
Old 09-30-14, 07:15 AM
hms09
Pole Position