LS - 4th Gen (2007-2017) Discussion topics related to the current flagship models LS460, LS460L and LS600H

If I install a ham radio in my new LS460L, I void the warranty.

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-15, 01:52 PM
rogersmith
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default If I install a ham radio in my new LS460L, I void the warranty.

I've been a ham radio operator since 1979, and have done installs of ham gear in all of my cars, ranging from Fords, to Chevys to trucks.

I just took delivery of a brand new, LS460L, and called Lexus to check on how to go about installing a VHF / UHF rig in the car.

The dealer told me that installing anything that wasn't Lexus-branded would instantly void the warranty.

As I've said, I've installed ham gear in many cars, and never had an issue here. Considering how technologically sophisticated this car happens to be, I'm very leery about giving Lexus any way to sneak out of covering repairs in the first four years.

Any thoughts?

R
Old 11-05-15, 02:45 PM
Othic
Pole Position

Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts

If the radio causes a particular component to fail it will void the warranty for the component. No way in hell will it void the entire warranty. They (meaning us service techs) have to prove it screwed up whatever component. I personally would change out whatever failed unless I knew they were going to call the part back and my story to how it failed didn't match up to how they figured out how it failed. They're pretty smart on figuring things out lol.
Old 11-05-15, 02:45 PM
7milesout
Advanced

Received 102 Likes on 73 Posts

Originally Posted by rogersmith
The dealer told me...
That's where you went wrong, right there.
Old 11-05-15, 02:55 PM
jmcraney

Received 276 Likes on 208 Posts