LS - 4th Gen (2007-2017) Discussion topics related to the current flagship models LS460, LS460L and LS600H

Anyone live in the salt belts?

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-16 | 06:37 AM
Doublebase
Pole Position

Default Anyone live in the salt belts?

It's a constant battle to keep that salt off the undercarriage and with the sound insulation under the LS, I wonder if I'm doing more harm than good by spraying water under there to rinse the salt off. I think I may be making matters worse and I'm kind of pushing the salt up and through that insulation.

Some friends of mine recommended a product called Fluid Film - and I've been using it for two years - but I don't know if it helps or makes matters worse. It's pretty sticky stuff and I wonder if it just traps more salt and sand...kind of lodging it in there. I only spray it on the pinch wells and exposed metal....I don't remove the sound insulation pieces and spray under them.

What are your thoughts on the undercarriage insulation that covers the bottom of these cars? Does it protect, or does it trap?
Old 01-02-16 | 01:42 PM
greg3852
Lexus Test Driver

I'm in southern Ma, but my car is from up around the Portland area. I don't even think about it. Haven't seen anything excessively rusty about my car vs others. Not worried.
Old 01-02-16 | 02:35 PM
Doublebase
Pole Position

Originally Posted by greg3852
I'm in southern Ma, but my car is from up around the Portland area. I don't even think about it. Haven't seen anything excessively rusty about my car vs others. Not worried.
Yeah but don't you drive like only 30 miles a week or something? Was it you, or someone else that had a 7 mile commute to work?

I guess it's just a car, I shouldn't care, but I've lost a few to rust and I'd like to prevent it this time. Probably impossible up here, but I'm not going down without a fight this time. A friend of mine just bought a southern car, you should see how different it is under a southern car...they look new.